Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Volleyball Earns GNAC Sportsmanship Award

Volleyball Earns GNAC Sportsmanship Award

WINTHROP, Mass. - The University of Saint Joseph volleyball team earned the 2017 GNAC Institutional Sportsmanship Award, it was announced on Tuesday afternoon by the conference front office in its annual year-end all-conference release. It marks back-to-back seasons that the Blue Jays have garnered this award as well as the fourth time in the past five seasons. The award, and all the league honors, are voted on by the 13 GNAC head coaches.


USJ has now been named for this award four times in the past five years, earning it in back-to-back seasons twice during the 2013 and 2014 campaigns and now after the 2016 and 2017 seasons.

Mogan Weeg from Simmons was named the GNAC Player of the Year, Elyssa Nichols from JWU was tabbed the Libero of the Year, Hannah Dolan from JWU earned Rookie of the Year, and Coach of the Year went to JWU's Nancy Somera to round out the four other year-end major awards.

In addition to the Instituational Sportsmanships Award, junior libero/defensive specialist Janell Molina (Honolulu, Hawaii) was named to the GNAC All-Sportsmanship Team as the representative for the Blue Jays. A complete list of the three All-Conference Teams, major award winners and All-Sportsmanship Team can be found below.

First Team
Maria Coniglio, Johnson & Wales (RI) (So., Old Bethpage, N.Y.)
Brylee Frank, Johnson & Wales (RI) (So., Palm City, Fla.)
Elyssa Nicolas, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Fr., Brisbane, Calif.)
Olivia Addington, Lasell (Jr., Orange, Calif.)
Mary Kate Reidy, Mount Ida (Sr., Agawam, Mass.)
Hayley Macken, Rivier (Jr., Clifton Park, N.Y.)
Morgan Weeg, Simmons (So., Goodyear, Ariz.)

Second Team
Hannah Dolan, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Fr., San Clemente, Calif.)
Katie Leidhold, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., Acushnet, Mass.)
Kate Walker, Johnson & Wales (RI) (So., Oakland, Calif. )
Caitlyn Garcia, Lasell (Sr., Moreno Valley, Calif.)
Taylor Dunster, Rivier (So., Sutton, Mass.)
Jordynne Copp, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Sr., Cumberland, Maine)
Jarene Harberts, Simmons (Fr., Naples, Fla.)

Third Team
Mary Shelow, Emmanuel (Mass.) (Jr., Miami, Fla.)
Gabbie Scudder, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Fr., Ashburn, Va.)
Taylor Tiezzi, Lasell (Sr., Meriden, Conn.)
Katryna Veasey, Regis (Mass.) (So., Quincy, Mass.)
Julia Zargaj, Rivier (Fr., Groveland, Mass.)
Jennelle Thompson, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Jr., Farmington, N.H.)
Hannah Fabiano, Suffolk (Fr., Litchfield, N.H.)

Major Awards
Player of the Year – Morgan Weeg, Simmons
Libero of the Year – Elyssa Nicolas, Johnson & Wales (RI)
Rookie of the Year – Hannah Dolan, Johnson & Wales (RI)
Coach of the Year – Nancy Somera, Johnson & Wales (RI)
Institutional Sportsmanship Award – University of Saint Joseph (Conn.)

All-Sportsmanship Team
Delaney Ruiz, Albertus Magnus (So., Meriden, Conn.)
Abygail Chapdelaine, Anna Maria (Fr., East Longmeadow, Mass.)
Katharine Journeay, Emmanuel (Jr., Hampton, N.H.)
Monica Cordova, Johnson & Wales (Jr., Jersey City, N.J.)
Kelly Cappitella, Lasell (So., East Haddam, Conn.)
Cassidy Bechtle, Mount Ida (Fr., Henniker, N.H.)
Emily Oliver, Norwich (Jr., Sagamore Hills, Ohio)
Caroline Fuentes, Regis (Mass.) (Jr., Downey, Calif.)
Erin Rosa, Rivier (Sr., Cumberland, R.I.)
Janell Molina, Saint Joseph (CT) (Jr., Honolulu, Hawaii)
Jordynne Copp, Saint Joseph's (ME) (Sr., Cumberland, Maine)
Hannah Fabiano, Suffolk (Fr., Litchfield, N.H.)