Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Swim & Dive Earns GNAC Team Sportsmanship Award

Swim & Dive Earns GNAC Team Sportsmanship Award

WINTHROP, Mass. - The University of Saint Joseph women's swimming and diving team earned the 2017-18 GNAC Institutional Sportsmanship Award, it was announced on Tuesday afternoon by the conference front office in its annual year-end major awards release. It marks back-to-back seasons that the Blue Jays have garnered this award. The award and all the major award winners are voted on by the eight GNAC head coaches.


Aine Scholand from Simmons was named the GNAC Athlete of the Year, Maria Soraghan from Simmons was tabbed the Rookie of the Year and Simmons' Mindy Williams was named Coach of the Year to round out the three other year-end major awards.

In addition to the Institutional Sportsmanship Award, junior Gabriella Alberino (East Haven, Conn.) was named to the GNAC All-Sportsmanship Team as the representative for the Blue Jays. A complete list of the Major Award Winners and All-Sportsmanship Team can be found below.

Athlete of the Year - Aine Scholand, Simmons
Rookie of the Year - Maria Soraghan, Simmons
Coach of the Year - Mindy Williams, Simmons
Institutional Sportsmanship Award - Saint Joseph (Conn.)

Bethany Fennessey, Colby-Sawyer
Aislinn Carrier, Elms
Kassidy Harris, Husson
Katie Sterling, Norwich
Ashlyn DeRoche, Regis (Mass.)
Gabriella Alberino, Saint Joseph (Conn.) 
Hailey Bouyea, Saint Joseph's of Maine
Michaela Morris, Simmons