Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Lax Earns GNAC Institutional Sportsmanship Award

Lax Earns GNAC Institutional Sportsmanship Award

WINTHROP, Mass. - The University of Saint Joseph women's lacrosse team earned the 2018 GNAC Institutional Sportsmanship Award, it was announced on Monday afternoon by the conference front office in its annual year-end all-conference release. It marks back-to-back seasons that the Blue Jays have garnered this award. The award and all the league honors are voted on by the 11 GNAC head coaches.


Vanessa Pino from Lasell was named the GNAC Attacker of the Year, Alyssa Kelly from Mount Ida was tabbed the Midfielder of the Year, Taylor Falco from Lasell earned Defender of the Year, and Maresa Malcolm of Regis (Mass.) was awarded Goalkeeper of the Year. The GNAC Rookie of the Year went to JWU's Dani Lydecker and JWU's Jessica Scannapieco was named Coach of the Year to round out the six other year-end major awards.

In addition to the Institutional Sportsmanship Award, senior midfielder Danielle Bazzano (South Windsor, Conn.) was named to the GNAC All-Sportsmanship Team as the representative for the Blue Jays. A complete list of the three All-Conference Teams, Major Award Winners and All-Sportsmanship Team can be found below.

A – Maria Patane, Johnson & Wales (RI) (So., Greenwich, N.Y.)
A – Raquel Pederzani, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Sr., Coventry, R.I.) 
A – Vanessa Pino, Lasell (Jr., Methuen, Mass.) 
A – Kasey Fries, Simmons (Sr., Bridgewater, Mass.) 
M – Taylor Yandow, Lasell (Sr., Moretown, Vt.) 
M – Alyssa Kelly, Mount Ida (Jr., Lee, Mass.) 
M – Brooke Scahill, Mount Ida (Jr., Gales Ferry, Conn.) 
M – Elyse Caiazzo, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Sr., Scarborough, Maine) 
D – Deja Hursey, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., Columbia, Md.) 
D – Taylor Falco, Lasell (Sr., Hazlet, N.J.) 
D – Meghan Sargent, Mount Ida (So., Brattleboro, Vt.) 
D – Brianne Maloney, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Sr., South Portland, Maine) 
GK – Maresa Malcolm, Regis (Mass.) (Sr., Barrington, N.J.) 

A – Dani Lydecker, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Fr., Valley Cottage, N.Y.) 
A – Allison Pazienski, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., New Hyde Park, N.Y.) 
A – Kerri Anselmo, Regis (Mass.) (So., Natick, Mass.) 
A – Kara Kelly, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Jr., York, Maine) 
M – Madeline Bishara, Johnson & Wales (RI) (So., Saunderstown, R.I.) 
M – Jordan McComb, Lasell (Jr., Cumberland, R.I.) 
M – Brittney Arsenault, Saint Joseph's (Me.)
M – Kayla Kelly, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Jr., York, Maine) 
D – Sophia Czarnecki, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., Greensburg, Pa.) 
D – Elizabeth Tonn, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Sr., Wantagh, N.Y.) 
D – Erin Loehner, Regis (Mass.) (Sr., Danvers, Mass.) 
D – Rachel Nadeau, Regis (Mass.) (Fr., Coventry, Conn.) 
GK – Eleanor Garvey, Mount Ida (Sr., Elkridge, Md.) 

A – Kellie Matthews, Lasell (Fr., Walpole, Mass.) 
A – Hayley Napier, Mount Ida (Sr., Fairhaven, Mass.) 
A – Olivia Bloom, Norwich (So., Annapolis, Md.) 
A – Madison Beaulieu, Saint Joseph's (Me.)
M – Marley Medina, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Fr., South Hadley, Mass.) 
M – Kathryn Albretsen, Norwich (Jr., Cotuit, Mass.) 
M – Linsay Bumila, Regis (Mass.) (Sr., Raynham, Mass.) 
M – Mallory Cottam, Simmons (Jr., Hope, R.I.) 
D – Sophia White, Emmanuel (Mass.)
D – Alyssa Ciszek, Rivier (So., Tyngsboro, Mass.) 
D – Liz Callahan, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Fr., Scarborough, Maine) 
D – Lauren Williams, Simmons (Jr., Bowdoinham, Maine) 
GK – Cassidy O'Hara, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Fr., Mashpee, Mass.)

ATTACKER OF THE YEAR – Vanessa Pino, Lasell
MIDFIELDER OF THE YEAR – Alyssa Kelly, Mount Ida
DEFENDER OF THE YEAR – Taylor Falco, Lasell
GOALKEEPER OF THE YEAR – Maresa Malcolm, Regis (Mass.)
ROOKIE OF THE YEAR – Dani Lydecker, Johnson & Wales (RI)
COACH OF THE YEAR – Jessica Scannapieco, Johnson & Wales (RI)

Korina Zelaya, Albertus Magnus (So., Trumbull, Conn)
Allison Hutchings, Emmanuel (So., Billerica, Mass.)
Madeline Bishara, Johnson & Wales (So., Saunderstown, R.I.)
Molly Fraser-Kulis, Lasell (Jr., Falmouth, Mass.)
Jordyn Ringuette, Mount Ida (Fr., Colchester, Conn.)
Mary-Kait Mace, Norwich (So., Canton, N.Y.)
Erin Loehner, Regis (Mass.) (Sr., Danvers, Mass.)
Courtney Laperriere, Rivier (Jr., Keene, N.H.)
Danielle Bazzano, Saint Joseph (CT) (Sr., South Windsor, Conn.)
Samantha Medlin, Saint Joseph's (ME) (Kingston, Mass.)
Elena Bragg, Simmons (Jr., Belmont, Mass.)